Bristol alumni recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours list

The beginning of the year 2022 was marked by eighteen of our distinguished alumni being recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours list for their extraordinary contributions to society. Among them are inspiring medical doctors, dedicated educators, and visionary scientists. We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements and their recognition. Read below to see if you recognise any from your time at Bristol.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Jonathan Richard Benger (BSc 1987, MBChB 1990, MD 2003) Chief Medical Officer, NHS Digital. Awarded for services to the NHS.

Kirsty Johnstone Bushell (MSc 2017) National Vice Chair, SSAFA. Awarded for voluntary service to the Armed Forces.

Esmeralda Devlin (BA 1993) Artist and Stage Designer. Awarded for services to design.

Dr Steven John Gamblin (BSc 1983, PhD 1989) Director of Scientific Platforms, The Francis Crick Institute. Awarded for services to scientific research.

Stephen Michael Reese (PGDip  2001) Solicitor and Partner, Clifford Chance LLP. Awarded for services to the COVID-19 response.

Dr John Frederick Stageman (BSc 1972, PhD 1978) Chairman, LifeArc. Awarded for services to the translation of medical research.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Lisa Armstrong (BA 1984) Fashion Director, The Telegraph. Awarded for services to fashion.

Nitin Ganatra (BA 1990) Actor. Awarded for services to drama.

Hannah Mills (PGDip MEng 2013) Competitive Sailor. Awarded for services to sailing and the environment.

John Selywn Ward (LLB 1993) Lately Deputy Director, Department for Work and Pensions Legal Advisers, Government Legal Department. Awarded for public service.

Dr Melanie Jane Ivarsson (BSc 1993, PhD 1997) Senior Vice President, Chief Development Officer, Moderna, United States of America. Awarded for services to public health during COVID-19.

Dr Catherine Lucy Morris (MBChB 2002) Paediatrician, Love the One charity, India. Awarded for services to healthcare and child welfare in India.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Professor Lucy Jane Carpenter (BSc 1991) Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, University of York. Awarded for services to atmospheric chemistry.

Michael Norman (BSc Mathematics 1963) Gwynne Evans Trustee, Wood Street Mission. Awarded for services to charity and to disadvantaged people in Manchester and Salford.

Dr Helen Brewster Holman (Certificate of Education 1992) Lately Headteacher, Orchard School, Bristol. Awarded for services to education.

Paul Mayo Holt (BSc Computer Science with Mathematics 1985) Managing Director. Awarded for services to international trade, to education, and to the UK’s PPE supply chain.

Reverend Jonathan Swales (MLitt Theology 2013) Founder, Lighthouse. Awarded for services to the community in Leeds, particularly during COVID-19.

Jill Diprose (MBChB 1968) Founder, Activities Interests Music Support (A.I.M.S.). Awarded for services to families of children with special needs in Dawlish, Devon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *