Bristol alumni recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours List

Photo by Hailey Wagner on Unsplash

This year, a whole host of Bristol alumni have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for their extraordinary contributions to society. Among them are NHS heroes, leading academics and community champions. Read on to see if you can spot any former classmates in the list of Bristol alumni who have been given a honour this year.

Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George (KCMG)

Sir Jeremy Fleming CB (BA 1988), Director of GCHQ. Awarded for services to national security.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Christopher Hall (BSc 1974), Deputy Chief Commercial Officer, Government Commercial Function, Cabinet Office. Awarded for public service.

Clive Selley (BEng 1986), Chief Executive, Openreach. Awarded for services to telecommunications during COVID-19.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Abygail Malkin (MSc 1998), Team Leader, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office. Awarded for services to national security

Andrew Tilden (Certificate 1985), Lately Director of Operations, Skills for Care. Awarded for services to social work

Stephen Page (BA 1986) Chief Executive Officer, Faber and Faber Publishing House. Awarded for services to publishing.

Susan Freestone DL (MEd 1995), former principal of King’s Ely school. Awarded for services to education and the community in Cambridgeshire.

Sue Turner (LLB 1988), Lately Chief Executive Officer, Quartet Community Foundation. Awarded for services to social justice.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Dr Ananthakrishnan Raghuram (MSc 2013), Consultant Physician, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Awarded for services to the NHS and the Covid-19 Response

Anne Ford (BA 1978) Interpreter Coordinator, European Commission. Awarded for services to English in the European Union.

Dr Joanna Jenkinson (MSc 2001), Head of Infections and Immunity, Medical Research Council. Awarded for services to COVID-19 research funding.

Dr Paul Van Driessche (MSc 2001), Honorary Consul, The Maldives. Awarded for services to British nationals in the Maldives.

Dr Teresa Bridgeman (BA 1984). Awarded for services to flood preparations.

Dr Thomas Clutton-Brock (MBChB 1980), Director, Medical Devices Testing and Evaluation Centre. Awarded for services to the NHS during COVID-19.

Dr Thushantha De Silva (BSc 1997, MBChB 2000), Senior Clinical Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Physician in Infectious Diseases, University of Sheffield. Awarded for services to COVID-19 research.

Dr Tom Wells (MBChB 1996, MD 2006), Consultant Medical Oncologist, University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust. Awarded for services to medicine and people with disabilities in the medical profession.

William Husband (MA 2004), Vocational Qualifications Officer, Devon Army Cadet Force. Awarded for services to young people.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Pooja Kawa (BA 2015), Manufacturing Strategy Lead, Vaccines Taskforce, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. Awarded for services to the development of a COVID-19 vaccine.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *