University of Bristol Alumni in Queen’s New Year Honours List 2021

Photo by Mark de Jong on Unsplash

Every year, we’re always delighted to hear about the University of Bristol alumni who have been recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours list for their brilliant contributions to society. Amongst those celebrated this year are many alumni who have worked incredibly hard to relieve the pressures of the COVID-19 pandemic – whether that’s through volunteering, their role in the NHS or through medical research. We’ve rounded up the alumni who featured on this year’s list alongside their awards below:


  • Caroline Mason (BA 1986) Chief Executive of the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation. Awarded for services to the charity sector, particularly during the Covid-19 response.
  • Professor Carol Propper (BSc 1977) Professor of Economics of Public Policy. Awarded for services to economic policy and to public health.
  • Alwen Williams (BA 1980) Chief Executive, Barts Health NHS Trust. Awarded for services to leadership in the NHS.


  • Professor David Stuart (PhD 1979, Hon DSc 2015) MRC Professor of Structural Biology, University of Oxford. Awarded for services to medical research and to the scientific community.


  • Mark Bowman (BSc 1992) Director General, International, H.M. Treasury. Awarded for public service.


  • Professor Graeme Betts (PhD 1990) Director of Adult Social Care at Birmingham City Council. Awarded for services to adult social care.
  • Professor Edward William Peck (BA 1981) Vice-Chancellor of Nottingham Trent University. Awarded for services to higher education.


  • Dr Heather Bacon (BVSc 2005) Animal Welfare and Veterinary Outreach Manager at the Jeanne Marchig International Centre for Animal Welfare Education. Awarded for services to veterinary education, to animal welfare and to charity in the UK and abroad.
  • Professor Robert Buckingham (PhD 1992) Robotics Director at the UK Atomic Energy Authority. Awarded for services to robotic engineering.
  • Dr Malcolm Butler (PhD 1972) Chair of the UK Onshore Geophysical Library. Awarded for services to education, research and development.


  • Rupert Hay-Campbell (BEng 1996) Head of Architecture at Parliamentary Digital Service. Awarded for services to parliament and to the community in Essex.
  • Fiorella Massey (BA 1981) Chair of the Friends of the Mental Health Foundation. Awarded for services to education.
  • William Thompson McElhinney (BEd 1977) Lately Principal at Ashlea Primary School, Londonderry. Awarded for services to primary education in Northern Ireland.
  • Margaret Simmons-Bird (MSc 1987) Director of Education Transformation at Bath and North East Somerset Council. Awarded for services to education.


  • Ella Jane Collins (BSc 1999) Community Champion at Wm Morrisons Supermarkets plc. Awarded for services to the community during the Covid-19 response.
  • Dr Pamela Mary Fisher (MBChB 1954). Awarded for voluntary service to the community in Cambridgeshire.

If you’re a Bristol graduate and we haven’t listed you here, it may be that we don’t have your details. We’d love to hear from you, so please do get in touch with us at to share your achievements.

1 thought on “University of Bristol Alumni in Queen’s New Year Honours List 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *