Bristol alumni recognised in the King’s New Year Honours list 2023

Every year the New Year Honours list recognises the achievements and services of extraordinary people that have made a commitment to our society. This year is no different with 10 of our remarkable Bristol alumni being recognised for their services to education, community, science, young people and more. We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements and recognition.

Dame Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George (Damehood)

Deborah Bronnert (BSc 1988) HM Ambassador Moscow, Russia. Awarded for services to British Foreign Policy.

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (Damehood)

Sally Dicketts (BEd 1977) Lately Chief Executive Officer, Activate Learning. Awarded for services to Education.

Dr Julie Maxton (LLD 2019) Executive Director, The Royal Society. Awarded for services to Science and the Law.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Christopher Stringer (PhD 1973, DSc 1990, LLD 2000) Research Leader, Human Evolution, Natural History Museum. Awarded for services to the Understanding of Human Evolution.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Fiona White (BSc 1997) Lately Deputy Director, Train Strategy and Operations, Department for Transport. Awarded for Public Service.

James Alexandroff (LLB 1979) Founder and Trustee, The Perivoli Foundation. Awarded for services to Education in Africa.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Denis Burn (BSc 1975). Awarded for services to Charity and to the community in Bristol.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Michael Weeks (Certificate Social Science 1994) Operations Manager, Cornwall Cricket League. Awarded for services to Cricket in Cornwall.

Alban Stowe (BA 2010) Senior Head, UK Government Strategy and Partnerships, The Prince’s Trust. Awarded for services to Young People.

Nura Aabe (MSc 2017) Founder, Autism Independence. Awarded for services to people with autism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *